Fun Homes Never Did Sit Right With Me

Hello all!

So for my first post, I figured I would write about something that I was at least interested in, and what a better way to start a reading blog than with a book with fun already in the title? This is partially what directed me to Alison Bechdel’s “Fun Home” out of everything on my list. Not that “Fall of the House of Usher” isn’t riveting the five hundredth time, but you know what I mean.

“Fun Home” is a graphic memoir that retells Alison Bechdel’s childhood- specifically growing up with her closeted father and coming to terms with her own homosexuality, as well as his suicide. It deals with the hurdles that she faced in her relationship with both of her parents and how they shaped her as she grew into adulthood and into herself as an individual. It has recently been adapted into a musical and won five Tony’s in 2015 (the music is pretty great if you’re into musical. Which I very much am).

I happened upon this book because of my book club. It is what we are going to be analyzing over the next few weeks and with everything else going on I wanted to get a jump on it. I basically finished the novel in one go and I enjoyed it immensely. Bechdel is a talented storyteller and artist and she presents her memoir in an incredibly accessible and interesting way. She captures the tension and awkward moments that surrounded her early childhood and ties it beautifully to the images that she produces.

That being said- I found myself feeling very disquieted as I put this novel down earlier this afternoon. Something about what I’ve read hasn’t sat well with me and while I have a mountain of other work I need to get to I keep finding myself flipping through the book again, looking for the moment that triggered this response. While I knew going in that it wasn’t exactly a happy story,  I think I might have been subconsciously waiting for that happy ending moment? Or maybe I wanted more closure? I dunno- I have a few weeks to grapple and live with this novel, so I am hoping that some distance now and close reading later will help me come to a conclusion. Well, that’s it from me for now! Thanks for reading!

One Comment Add yours

  1. Art Taylor says:

    “Fall of the House of Usher” is riveting even the 501st time.

    Like

Leave a Reply

